top of page
  • Writer's pictureHilda Van Netten

A Gift - I'll Always Be With You

The warm autumn light was calling to me this morning. We'd hoped to go on a 10 km hike with the hiking club, but turned back when Ted wasn't feeling well. Next option: follow the light.


I wondered what could possibly be new in the gardens and woods? It's not that I never go there.


I could show you pictures of sweet alyssum, still putting out new blooms in October, California poppies with their bright orange petals and stamens, Gallardias that are flourishing in the cooler weather. But, I won't. That's not new.


But, how about this little package of silvery seeds? I had no idea that violet's seeds were so grand.



When I saw this tiny feather lying on a stump, I thought, "What a gift! Maybe I will receive more gifts on my walk this morning."


Who knows?



And, look at that! An equally tiny mushroom! We've been having a discussion lately about how many different types of mushrooms are living in just our back yard. Ted's spreading wood chips along the paths must have given them hope for life. Out of the trees' deaths, life is emerging.



Literally emerging. Pushing up through the crumbling soil.



I walked a few steps more and there was this gem. Look at the ridged rim around its cap. It looks like a knitted picot edge to me.



I slowed down, thinking that maybe I was being given a gift. The gift of mushroom sightings. I decided to pay more attention. Oh my! That's moss and that's a mushroom.



Going around the eastern corners of the pathway, I came across this cluster of light grey ones. Still not very big. Those are other plants' stems for size reference.



A mom and her little girl. Dressed in their pretty skirts. My own "little girl" found out she has Covid-19 this morning.



It looks to me like some mushrooms are a bit shy. They peek out from behind things like leaves and rotting branches.



Walking around the back and southernmost path, these beauties stopped me in my tracks. It's interesting how each species finds its own place in the forest.



Isn't that a beautiful brown? So perfect.



Glancing away from the path, I noticed another type, emerging from the bottom of a healthy tree. I hope that tree is healthy. Mushrooms usually don't grow on live wood.



The gifts kept on coming. Side views of mushrooms, and top views. Maybe this is where artists got the idea to make mandalas. Consistent patterns throughout.



Still on the back path, another one was snuggled up against a tree. It reminded me a bit of the Shaggy Mane mushroom. I wondered if there would be any Shaggy Mane's today. We get them every year.



I found that I needed to start looking where I was walking. I almost stepped on this little gem, laying upside down. So tiny and so precise.



By now, I was tiptoeing through the mushrooms. And, there it was! Shaggy Mane. And, look around! Do you see other tiny mushrooms?



It's like the Creator and Sustainer said, "You want mushrooms? I will give you mushrooms."



I will give you mushrooms with character. Ones that wear shawls on chilly mornings.



Multi-coloured fungi.


Do you see the tiny mushroom too?



"I will give you mushrooms that look like bouquets."



"I will even give you a frog that dreams of mushroom tops."



"And, one that sits in the sun wondering where all those mushrooms came from."



"You want mushrooms?"


Now I am seeing things.



It's good to see things, right?



Brandi Carlile


When the fire inside that burns so bright Begins to grow faded It can be hard to see the ground on which you stand

Though you may not be afraid of walkin' in the darkness You will feel like a stranger in this land


You can try to carve a faith out of your own But a broken spirit may dry out the bone And the edges of the night may cause you sorrow You know I may not be around this time tomorrow

But I'll always be with you Yeah, I'll always be with you


When the hope that you hold tightly to has all but vanished And there are no words of comfort to be found

You will know what it means to be lost and without love May you fight to kill that deafening sound


But our holy dreams of yesterday aren't gone They still haunt us like the ghosts of Babylon And the breakin' of the day might bring you sorrow You know I may not be around this time tomorrow

But I'll always be with you I'll always be with you



22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page